Marcel Bergeron’s Duty to Remember

I phoned Marcel Bergeron Friday night to talk about Wilbrod Nadeau who I had called Wilfrid on my blog on November 11th, 2010.

I should have double-checked what I had written back then…

blogue-du-11-novembre-2010

marcel-bergeron

Wilbrod! not Wilfrid… I told you Wilbrod!

Marcel was not angry. He just has a quick wit and a dry sense of humour. I have to say I am a bit like Marcel when we start remembering how we met in 2010.

plaque souvenir de Marcel

Marcel was the one who led me to write about Tibé Gagnon in 2010.

Eugène Gagnon

I created a blog especially for Eugene who was with RAF 23 Squadron.

Together with Jacques Gagnon, who is Eugène Gagnon’s nephew, we had honored his uncle who died in a plane crash on October 21, 1947. We did so through my blogs for almost 6 years until finally Eugene Gagnon was honored on November 11th, 2016 by the National Assembly of Quebec and the Société St-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal.

invitation

Invitation of the SSJB of Montréal

dsc07383

Medal which Jacques Gagnon is holding

When people listened to the presentation we could hear how people were impressed by Eugene’s 33 operations over Germany in the dark of night over German airfields.

Getting back to Wilbrod, I finally found a lot of information on the crash.

May 6th 1944, “During the flying two aircraft from Montford Bridge, Spitfire R6602, pilot F/O Mare George Rivet (J25402) Royal Canadian Air Force, and Spitfire X4821, pilot R135189 W/O Joseph Irenee Wilbrod Nadeau, Royal Canadian Air Force, collided at 12,000ft while engaged in battle formation. F/O Rivet baled out successfully, but W/O Nadeau went down with his aircraft was killed.”

Alan Clark

Peak District Air Accident Research

http://www.peakdistrictaircrashes.co.uk/

***

Mark,
I was researching J.W.Nadeau when I stumbled on this post. Recently came across some wreckage on the side of a small mountain in Quebec and subsequent investigation determined that it was the remains of a Harvard trainer that suffered Class A damage December 23,1942 while on a training flight out of St. Hubert. Nadeau was the Pupil Pilot, walked away without injury. Flying Officer J.R. Cronk, J13469 was the Instructor, slightly injured. I was curious about what happened to these two and this post has supplied me with part of the answer. I’ve found nothing on Cronk.

Derek.

As Marcel always says after our phone conversations…

marcel-bergeron

On se repogne!*

* On se repogne! could be translated by we’ll get together again.

Laisser un commentaire

