The Christmas Truce of 1916: my Grandad was there.

L’Histoire ne raconte pas tout…

John Knifton

When I was a little boy in the late 1950s and 1960s, my Grandad used to mention to me how there had been a Christmas truce with the Germans during his time with the Canadian Army. The most famous truce of all had already taken place at Christmas 1914 of course.

Trucecigarette

Having accessed my Grandad’s war records in later years, I knew that he hadn’t joined the Canadian Army until 1916, far too late for the famous Christmas Truce. I was also aware that he had fought at Vimy Ridge. How did I know that? Well, fifty or more years ago, he had told me so. Here are some Canadians at Vimy Ridge during the battle. Theoretically, my Grandad could be one of them, but I do know that he spent most of his time in the artillery. That was probably why he was so deaf when I knew him :Vimy_Ridge_-_Canadian_machine_gun_crews

And…

View original post 1 204 mots de plus

2 réflexions sur “The Christmas Truce of 1916: my Grandad was there.

  1. Pierre I went to the link and wrote the following comment ‘You have just jogged a memory of a truce between A Malaysian company and an Indonesian company during Konfrontasi in the mid sixties. I will post it in a day or so. But for certain reason I must make it sound a little like fiction although I know it to be fact.

Laisser un commentaire

